Northern Burn Care Network

Northern Burn Care Networknbcn-network-map

The Northern Burn Care Network was first created in 2008 in response to the National Burn Care Review, published in 2001.  The review identified clinical networks  as the organisational model, or way of working, to drive change and improve burn care services for the populations in specific areas.

The changes to the overall strctuture of the NHS which came into affect on 1 April 2012 resulted in the function of Burns Networks changing to Operational Delivery Networks (ODNs).

The Northern Burn Care ODN covers the North of England (including the North East, North West and Yorkshire and the Humber), North Wales and the Isle of Man.  With an approximate population of 15.4m: 2.9m children and 12.5m adults.   It is one of only four Networks for Burn Care Services in England and Wales.

NHS Organisation Members of the Network

Burn Centres

Burns Centres cover a larger geographical area than their own local population.  Treating and managing patients with the highest level of burn injury complexity ie major/complex from within the Northern Burn Care Network.

Adult Burn Centre level care is provided within the Network by Pinderfields (Mid Yorkshire Hospitals NHSFT), Wythenshaw Hospital (University Hospital South Manchester), Whiston Hospital (Helen & St Knowlsey Hospitals NHSFT) and Royal Victoria Infirmary (Newcastle Upon Tyne Hospitals NHSFT).

Children requiring Burn Centre level care are referred to either Alder Hey Children’s Hospital NHSFT, Royal Manchester Children’s Hospital NHSFT or Royal Victoria Infirmay ((Newcastle Upon Tyne Hospitals NHSFT).

Burns Units

Burn Units provide in-patient care for moderate level of burn injury complexity.  The facilities are equipped and staffed to Level 2 (High Dependcy Unit (HDU) critical care.   Adult burn services within the Network are provided by the Northern General Hospital (Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHSFT).

Burns Facilities

Burns Facilities provide in-patient burn care that equates to a standard plastic surgical ward for the care of minor burns, non-complex burns injuries.  Burns Facilities within the Network are Preston Hospital  (Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHSFT) and James Cook University Hospital (South Tees Hospitals NHSFT).

Both Burn Centres and Burns Units manage patients with lesser/minor burn injuries who live within their Trust’s local population.

Ambulance Services

Five ambulance services cover the Network:  South Yorkshire Ambulance Service NHSFT, North East Ambulance Service NHSFT, North West Ambulance Service NHSFT, East Midlands Ambulance Service NHSFT and the Welsh Ambulance Service.  Patients requiring transfer by air are transported by Yorkshire Air Ambulance, Derbyshire, Leicestershire and Rutland Air Ambulance, North West Air Ambulance and Great North Air Ambulance Services.

Patients with burn injuries are taken to the nearest ED or if approrpiate to the nearest MTC.  However, the hospital may not provide the required level of burn care service.  Patients are therefore stablised and then transferred onto the appropriate Burn Service within the Network.